Hofstede Design (1996—2015) was Heath McCurdy, Wendy Ellerton, Hege Olsen, Andrew Tesdorpf, Paul Scanlon, Frits Bovill, Liz Cox, Sash Fernando, Tess Copeland, Sally Brownbill, Margaret Schmidt, Tim Royall, Ben Jennings, Tomas Sabbatucci, Paul Mylecharane and Dominic Hofstede. We also acknowledge the many clients, suppliers and colleagues who contributed to a rich and creatively rewarding two decades. Dominic Hofstede is now the Design Director of Maud Melbourne. Click anywhere to view the archive.

1800 Hofstede


The 2012 Australian Design Biennale (ADB012) was AGDA’s rebadged biannual awards event. Under the leadership of creative director Andrew Ashton, the program was reviewed, refreshed and re-imagined within an umbrella theme of ‘Start Again’. This back-to-basics philosophy was given visible form in a direct, simple but compelling brand identity developed by Ryan Guppy from 21-19. Elements of the ADB012 campaign were then designated to members of a small volunteer coterie, including ourselves.

The production of a condensed awards publication was our specific undertaking. Working within a compressed timeframe, and with last-minute content changes inherent in such a project, we designed a 36 page booklet, printed and delivered the day before the event. A comprehensive awards book will follow later in 2013.