Hofstede Design (1996—2015) was Heath McCurdy, Wendy Ellerton, Hege Olsen, Andrew Tesdorpf, Paul Scanlon, Frits Bovill, Liz Cox, Sash Fernando, Tess Copeland, Sally Brownbill, Margaret Schmidt, Tim Royall, Ben Jennings, Tomas Sabbatucci, Paul Mylecharane and Dominic Hofstede. We also acknowledge the many clients, suppliers and colleagues who contributed to a rich and creatively rewarding two decades. Dominic Hofstede is now the Design Director of Maud Melbourne. Click anywhere to view the archive.

1800 Hofstede


Tobias Frere-Jones is one of the world’s foremost type designers, responsible for the design of over 500 typefaces. This double-sided A2 poster promoted Tobias’ visit to Melbourne for a conference and typographic masterclass. The conundrum faced by type designers is that once their offspring are released into the commerical world, they cannot control how they are used, or by whom. Our conceptual approach hints at this dilemma by showing applied examples of Frere-Jones’ typefaces, collated and assembled on our studio floor. Even accomplished and renowned practitioners like Tobias are relatively unknown to designers, and this anonymity is referenced in the form of a keyline portrait hanging on the wall.